NCSO™ Maintenance Requirements

The NCSO™ designation must be verified every three years. To maintain NCSO™ status, applicants must maintain training certificates as applicable.

Compulsory Course Requirements

Applicants must have valid certificates for the following courses:

  • Standard First Aid (2 days)
  • Fall Protection (2 days)
  • OHS Committee Training 2015 (2 days)
Elective Course Requirements

Provide proof of completion of a minimum of three (3) required courses:

  • Confined Space (2 days)
  • Transportation of Dangerous Goods (1 day)
  • Environmental Awareness 2017 (1 day/also available online)
  • Safety for Supervisors (2 days)
  • Trenching & Excavation (½ day)
  • Powerline Hazard (½ day)
  • Traffic Control Person (6 hours)

Applicants are required to submit the following documentation to demonstrate the practical application of their skills and abilities:

  • Jobsite Inspection
  • Toolbox Presentation
  • Accident/Incident Investigation
  • Hazard Assessment
  • COR® Internal Audit and Action Plan

Locating a company to participate in the practical requirements is the responsibility of the NCSO™ candidate. All practical requirements must be completed independently and individually (i.e. not as part of a team or committee) and must have been completed within 12 months of submission. In addition, the NCSO™ candidate will be required to submit updated/current practical requirements for any one or more of the practical requirements that were completed more than twelve (12) months prior to the time that the candidate challenges both NCSO™ knowledge examinations. An individualized action plan may be developed for candidates who submit two (2) or more practical submissions that do not meet the standards of the program.

Individuals who have achieved the NCSO™ designation from NLCSA are not required to write the NCSO™ National Knowledge Exam as part of his/her maintenance requirements.

However, effective September 1, 2017, individuals who previously achieved the Construction Safety Officer (CSO) designation and are interested in pursuing the National Construction Safety Officer (NCSO™) designation will be required to challenge the national exam upon their designation renewal. Additionally, any individual who did not challenge the CSO General Knowledge exam will be required to also complete the Provincial Knowledge Exam to receive the NCSO™ designation.

If a candidate fails to meet the passing marks, they must wait ninety (90) days before they will be permitted to challenge the exam(s) again. The candidate will also be required to pay a re-writing fee of $50.00 + HST for the examination. Should an individual fail either knowledge exam three (3) times, they will be required to begin the application process all over again.

Upon notification that all requirements have been successfully met, it is the responsibility of the NCSO™ candidate to contact the NLCSA and make arrangements to challenge both the national and provincial knowledge examinations. A schedule for the NCSO™ national and provincial knowledge exams is available under the NLCSA’s training schedule on our website. Please note that the NLCSA requires a minimum of two (2) weeks notice prior to registering for either one of the exams. Electronic devices and textbooks are not permitted in the examination room. Additionally, when the candidate arrives to challenge the exam(s), they will be required to show a valid Government issued photo identification card (ID) to verify their identity.

Please note that NCSO™ candidates are responsible for arranging their own training schedule. A full course schedule including locations and pricing is available in the training schedule section of the website.

NCSO® Renewal Application Form