The NCSO® Program


Applicants must have a minimum of three (3) years of construction field experience prior to acceptance into the NCSO® program.  For more information on the experience criteria and how to submit proof of experience, visit our NCSO® Program Guide.

Designation Requirements

Upon acceptance into the program, NCSO® candidates are required to complete the following:

Compulsory Course Requirements

Provide proof of completion of the following required courses:

  • Certificate of Recognition (COR®) (5 days)
  • OHS Committee Training  (2 days) *
  • Fall Protection (WorkplaceNL)
  • Standard First Aid (2 days)
  • WHMIS 2015 (½ day/also available online)
  • Instructional Techniques (2 days)
  • Incident Investigation (1 day)
  • Early and Safe Return to Work (½ day)
  • Construction Worker Safety (1 day/also available online)
  • NCSO® Administration (1 day) **

* Please note that OHS Committee Training Level 1 certification will be awarded to any candidate who completes the 5-day Certificate of Recognition® (COR®).

** Please note that NCSO® Administration is the last course completed for the NCSO® program and that all other training and practical requirements must be met prior to registering for this course.

Elective Course Requirements

Provide proof of completion of a minimum of three (3) required courses:

  • Confined Space (WorkplaceNL 2 day)
  • Transportation of Dangerous Goods (1 day)
  • Environmental Awareness 2017 (1 day/also available online)
  • Safety for Supervisors (WorkplaceNL 2 day)
  • Trenching & Excavation (½ day)
  • Powerline Hazard (WorkplaceNL ½ day)
  • Traffic Control Person (6 hours)
Applicants are required to submit the following documentation to demonstrate the practical application of their skills and abilities:

  • Jobsite Inspection
  • Toolbox Presentation
  • Accident/Incident Investigation
  • Hazard Assessment
  • COR® Internal Audit and Action Plan

For full details, visit our NCSO® Program Guide.

Applicants are required to successfully complete both of the following examinations:

  • NCSO® National Knowledge Exam
  • NCSO® Provincial Knowledge Exam

The candidate will be eligible to challenge both examinations after it has been verified that all other requirements have been successfully completed and/or have valid expiry dates. The successful passing mark for each examination is 75 percent (75%).  For full details and exam requirements, download our NCSO®/NHSA™ General Knowledge Exam Guidelines and Information, below.

Maintenance Requirements

The NCSO® designation must be verified every three years. To maintain NCSO® status, applicants must maintain training certificates as applicable and submit documentation to demonstrate the continued practical application of their skills and abilities.  See the NCSO® Program Guide for full details.

Equivalency Requirements

The NLCSA will recognize an individual who has attained a NCSO® designation from another member of the Canadian Confederation of Construction Safety Associations, signatory to the 2017 Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) on the National Construction Safety Officer (NCSO)® Program.

To receive the NCSO® designation from the NLCSA, individuals who qualify to apply under equivalency will be required to submit a copy of their NCSO® designation, a completed copy of the equivalency application form, payment of the application/examination fee of $50.00 + HST, and successfully challenge the NLCSA’s provincial knowledge examination. Visit the NCSO® Program Guide for full details.

Please note that the NLCSA will only accept NCSO® designations following the criteria of the 2017 MOU agreement.

Applications & Detailed Program Information

NCSO® Application Form
NCSO® Renewal Application Form
NCSO® Equivalency Application
NCSO®/NHSA™ General Knowledge Exam Guidelines & Information
NCSO® Program Guide