There are four (4) categories for the 2016 Safety Awards as follows:

Award of Excellence

This award serves to recognize organizations who are leaders in the construction industry in Newfoundland and Labrador, and who maintain a superior safety record while fostering a culture of safety excellence.

Community Partner Award

Do you know an individual or organization who has volunteered time and efforts to raising community awareness in the area of health and safety?  The NLCSA wants to hear about them and celebrate their dedication to health and safety in the community.

Safety Champion Award

Is there an individual in your organization who is not employed in a specific safety capacity, yet through his/her dedication, has made an outstanding contribution to health and safety in the construction industry in Newfoundland and Labrador?  If yes, he/she may fit the criteria for NLCSA’s Safety Champion Award. 

Safety Innovation Award

Do you know a company or a person who has made an outstanding achievement in the development of an innovative solution to a safety challenge, or an invention that significantly eliminates workplace risk? This could be a safety tool, device, or equipment, a written safety program, or a training course, or other innovation which is transferable to the construction industry.

Self-nominations and third party nominations are accepted for the following:

Award of Excellence; Safety Champion Award; and the Safety Innovation Award. 

(Only third party nominations are accepted for the Community Partner Award.) 


Visit our Safety Awards webpage  for award details and application forms.

The deadline for submissions is Friday, January 15, 2016.

The awards will be presented at NLCSA’s Annual Health & Safety Conference on March 3rd, 2016.